STUDENT LEARNING AND ACHIEVEMENT UPDATE

Dear Friends and Families,

I count myself among the most fortunate of people for many reasons. One reason being that on any given day when I come to work, I can witness a young girl learn a new word, read a book that she couldn’t read the week before, or explain the mathematical reasoning behind adding and subtracting positive and negative integers. Where I work, I get to see students embody merit on a regular basis. Where I work effort is valued, effort is taught, and effort is one of the key pillars that is helping to increase and ensure student learning and achievement at Public Prep.

I entered this world on the same day, and only nine minutes before, one of the most brilliant people I know, my twin sister.  She is one of the main reasons I find myself working in education today. After taking a single test in kindergarten, our educational experiences became drastically divergent. Where I my efforts were encouraged by my teachers and the school, hers were not. I know that if we attended a school like the schools in the Public Prep Network, her unique brilliance and effort, as well as mine, would have been seen immediately and brought out into the light. 

Since starting as the Managing Director of Student Learning and Achievement for Public Prep, I have spent time in each of our schools learning about, with, and from our students, our staff members, our families, and our school leaders. I will be working with each school, and with my colleagues at the network level, in leading development of Public Prep’s Academic Standard of Excellence that explicitly defines – at each K-8 grade level – what Public Prep students are expected to know, and be able to do, to be on a predictive path to earn a four-year college degree.

I believe that every child is brilliant beyond measure and that it is our work to find that brilliance and make it even brighter. I am looking forward to working hard with all of you achieve this.

Take gentle care,

Verta Maloney

MD, Student Learning and Achievement 

Leave a Reply

